DAY 1 Campaign Design - Shirt Design Before I start there are some things to consider. First and foremost, we want to decide who exactly the t-shirt is for. Who is your audience? Are they male? Are they female? Is it a political audience? Is it a younger male audience? Is it an older male audience? Are they more of a distinguished type of person? Are they the happy-go-lucky type? You really need to think about who that person is and create the shirt for your market. For my first “animal” niche I will create a t-shirt which addressed mostly on women because from my research I understand that women is more usual to wear a t-shirt about dog lovers, labradors etc than men. Also I will design women’s fitted t-shirts. In second niche, I will choice to create a unisex t-shirt and I will test it also when I upload the audience (facebook emails) on facebook and will check the percentage of the genders that my audience consists to make a choice. We also need to decide whether you are going to do a premium shirt or a novelty shirt. A novelty shirt is going to be a cheaper, Hanes-like, regular t-shirt. A shirt of a nicer quality with a really nice design is what we would consider a premium shirt. This ends up affecting the cost of the shirt. The higher the quality of the shirt we use, the more the base cost of producing it. So, I am going to have to charge more for it to make any profit off of it. Now, depending on our audience, that may not be a big deal. If my audience is used to buying premium shirts and likes premium shirts, then they are also used to paying premium prices for those shirts. Are we going to use text, are we going to use an image, or are we going to do both? How many colors are we going to use? What style of shirt are we going to put it on? In that regard, we have a lot of different options. I will use text and image for my first campaign and i will split test the second niche one t-shirt with text and image and the other only with an image. This is some of my old and new examples:   The Campaign Goal We will need to figure out the magic number for our goal. We don’t want to set it too high because that will set off sales. At the same time, we don’t want to make it too low because that will cost you money. Now, the cool thing is that we can adjust your goal up or down by contacting Teespring support. The bigger our audience reach is, the more we are going to sell. So, if we have a large fan base, we can probably get away with having a larger goal. However, if we fan base is really small, then we might want to…

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DAY 1
Campaign Design – Shirt Design

Before I start there are some things to consider. First and foremost, we want to decide who exactly the t-shirt is for. Who is your audience? Are they male? Are they female? Is it a political audience? Is it a younger male audience? Is it an older male audience? Are they more of a distinguished type of person? Are they the happy-go-lucky type? You really need to think about who that person is and create the shirt for your market.

For my first “animal” niche I will create a t-shirt which addressed mostly on women because from my research I understand that women is more usual to wear a t-shirt about dog lovers, labradors etc than men. Also I will design women’s fitted t-shirts. In second niche, I will choice to create a unisex t-shirt and I will test it also when I upload the audience (facebook emails) on facebook and will check the percentage of the genders that my audience consists to make a choice.

We also need to decide whether you are going to do a premium shirt or a novelty shirt.

A novelty shirt is going to be a cheaper, Hanes-like, regular t-shirt. A shirt of a nicer quality with a really nice design is what we would consider a premium shirt. This ends up affecting the cost of the shirt. The higher the quality of the shirt we use, the more the base cost of producing it. So, I am going to have to charge more for it to make any profit off of it.

Now, depending on our audience, that may not be a big deal. If my audience is used to buying premium shirts and likes premium shirts, then they are also used to paying premium prices for those shirts. Are we going to use text, are we going to use an image, or are we going to do both? How many colors are we going to use? What style of shirt are we going to put it on? In that regard, we have a lot of different options. I will use text and image for my first campaign and i will split test the second niche one t-shirt with text and image and the other only with an image.

Στιγμιότυπο 2014-11-13, 2.52.41 μ.μ.

This is some of my old and new examples:

 Στιγμιότυπο 2014-11-13, 3.00.40 μ.μ.

The Campaign Goal

We will need to figure out the magic number for our goal. We don’t want to set it too high because that will set off sales. At the same time, we don’t want to make it too low because that will cost you money. Now, the cool thing is that we can adjust your goal up or down by contacting Teespring support. The bigger our audience reach is, the more we are going to sell. So, if we have a large fan base, we can probably get away with having a larger goal. However, if we fan base is really small, then we might want to start with a smaller goal. For my campaigns I will start with 100 goal because both of my campaigns has a lot of targeted passionate fans/audience.

You can approximately expect 0.5% to 1.5% of your audience size to buy your shirt.

I will buy 3 t-shirts for me and my friends to encourage the sales. I attached one month old successful campaign that had great success.

 tee_proofssss

tee_proofs2

T-Shirt Pricing

On my both niche I am going to split test price like: 18.98 – 19,95. The prices that usually add on my t-shirts are $19.95, $16.99, $18.98, or something like that. So, if these are priced correctly, customers can compare them to t-shirts that they have bought offline. People are conditioned to buy things, and they are comfortable with certain types of price points. When it comes to retail pricing and clothes shopping, people are used to seeing a t- shirt for 14, 15, 16, 17 dollars, with a .95 or a .99 attached to the back of it.

This will be the profit for each t-shirt!

Sales_Goal

Offer Page on Teespring

It will be very simple. I am not going to write any sales copy because I believe that clothing sales are visual. I will add a photo of a safe payment through paypal – visa -mastercard although under the text which will point to the buy button on teespring. The title which vey important take note that the title of your shirt will also be the URL to your offer page.

 

So, if the name of your shirt is ‘dog lovers’, then the URL for your offer page would be Teespring.com/doglovers, and you would send everybody to that link to buy your shirt. I will use “Limited Edition” words and i will emphasize adding this line on the page: IMPORTANT: These shirts are only available through Tuesday, 10/15/2014 th at 8 pm Eastern time. Act Fast! This is an example of the offer/sales page of teespring.
Offer_Page_Examplee

 

 DAY 2
Campaign Design – Shirt Design

 

Below are my audience. I collected approx. 170K full targeted passionate and active users for the first campaign and the second niche almost 130K approx. I believe that I have built very good conditions with that amount of the custom audience that I have collected. I will refresh my audience if needed it during the campaigns. Let’s see how this will work :
Niche2_CA1_
labradors_audience1
pugs_audience1
dogs_audience1

Also, I will test it on Facebook to see, how potential reach has the audience, and based on this I will make some changes if needed it, related on the genders and age groups.

Extra tip

When it’s time to extract audience for your facebook ad campaign, you have multiple opportunities to find your right audience than try to search only for related fan pages. You can use the option to extract audience by post they like and find your audience from pages that is different from your niche but their has a related post and a lot of comments likes which means active passionate users.

DAY 3
Campaign Design – Shirt Design

I have 2 campaigns in 2 different niches 4 – shirts in total. I am going to test them for the next day or two. I have already created the banners and I have already posted on Day’s 1 post. I will choose website conversion from Facebook ads section and I will create a fan page. Even if, you don’t have any fans on it, should create one just so you can use the news feed format. Take a look on my potential audience:
true_auddogs11_audience

In the first niche I got a totally 160k passionate audience and I selected countries and sex which the audience reduced to 84,000 audience. I use only women for gender as I mentioned on my previous posts. I will update the campaign and minimize the range of the age if needed. In the second niche of a popular TV series, I collected more than 140k audience and I selected countries which reduced the potential audience to 97,000. I used both genders with a big age range as you can see in the above screenshots.

DAY 5 – 7
Split Tests Results

I let to run the split tests ads more than 2 days and I chose the best. Here is the results from 2 of my 4 different ads that I started which give me satisfied motivation to let it run.
true_okdog_ok

Also, these are the results so far at t-shirt that have been sold so far.

proof_1 proof_2

Not as much sales as I expected so in order to reach my target sooner. I will have to speed up the process in a way. I will start to increase the daily budget bit by bit after a week (e.g. $25 – $50 – $100 – $200 etc) to make sure the ROI keeps positive. Optimized CPM (with default bids) works pretty well for me but until now I have conclude that it get’s more expensive when trying to scale (high daily budgets).

CPC is more robust for me (keep CPC stable, even when scaling) so I return it on cpc after getting my first cpm impression of 1000 reach. My goal for the 1st day wasn’t to make profit.. It was to collect data! I set the max daily budget for the CPC campaign at $10 – $20 – which it was enough to get some useful data in. With CPM I usually don’t go much higher than $10 – $20 – got the feeling that works best.

 

After the first day, I checked the following:

1. What’s the CTR of each ad? On the 1st day I’m aiming for 3%+.
2. How many clicks did I get, and what was the average CPC I paid?
3. How many shirts did I sell, and how much revenue should that bring in?
4. See which ads / campaigns are doing best (in terms of CPC, CTR and conversions).

The data from 2 & 3 are really important, because it allows you to see what each visitor is worth to you (on average).
e.g. Let’s say you got 75 clicks and sold 3 shirts at $9 each (= $34), then each visitor is (on average) worth 27/75 = $0.36. Valuable info!

 

There are a couple of different outcomes after the 1st day:

  • The campaign makes a HUGE loss (e.g. $25 spend, 0 sales).
  • The campaign makes a small loss (e.g. $25 spend, $20 revenue)
  • The campaign breaks even (e.g. $25 spend, $25 revenue)
  • The campaign is profiting (e.g. $25 spend, $40 revenue)

 

I closed the campaigns that made huge loss and kept the campaigns which are breaks even and which is profiting. In general, if the campaign makes a small loss or breaks even (at least 75% money made back) I go through the ad variations (e.g. ads, targeting etc) to see whether some are underperforming I adjust the CP. After checking your stats take action and either kill, adjust or scale the campaign. Don’t be afraid to kill a campaign and take your losses. Honestly, a lot of campaigns will fail but if they run well as happening for 1 of my 4 ad campaigns, it probably should be exploit.

DAY 9-10
On the Middle of my Target

I am going to post a few of my positive stats so far from both of my campaigns. Both are doing great and the results are 1000% positive. Recently, I increased the daily budget to 50$ (25$ each) a day from both of my campaigns. I want to increase the daily budget bit by bit, to make sure the ROI keeps positive.

Campaign 1 T-shirt

proof1tee

Campaign 2 T-Shirt

proof2tee
I have sold over 87 t-shirts in both campaigns which is great! I think FB stats are the important stats because this journey was to test, how powerful the Facebook emails are.

DAY 19
2 Days before my over successfull campaigns end

I always optimize the campaigns for getting the maximum results. The great news are, that both of my teespring campaigns passed the 100 sold t-shirts. In my first campaign, I have sold 162 t-shirts with an estimated profit $1,620 and in my second teespring campaign I have sold 116 t-shirts with an estimated profit $1,160!

Below is the attachment from my campaigns.

The total ad cost of both campaigns is $788.85 plus the split test ads in the beginning which was $80 = $868.65
result

Day 21
Final Day

The last day of my journey is finished. The results are awesome and I am ready to share everything that I made for this journey to be successful. Let’s focus on the stats. As you can see, below is the estimated profit and the sold of the t-shirts.
prooff_1

Below, is a screenshot with facebook stats from the 1st campaign. You clearly see that I had 134 conversions with the cost per conversion $3.48. The clicks of the ad are 2,453 which include post likes, page likes, website clicks etc (average CPC 0.18$). The CTR stayed above 4% due to passionate audience – attractive banner. The total spent of the ad is 465,91$. If you divide by 21(days) (teespring campaign) is 22,18$ per day. So with 22,18$ a day in 21 days, I made over $875 net profit.

fb_stats1
The other campaign gave more profit but the cost was more expensive. I had 193 conversions with $3.09 the cost per conversion. The clicks of the ad are 3,729 with $0.15 average CPC. I expected more CTR in this campaign but it dropped to 5.8%. The total spent is $595.37 which is $28 per day. I made over $1,335 net profit.
fb_stats2

Some Extra Advices

Scaling many campaigns fail, some do well and a few will go incredibly well!! When you’re setting up campaigns 1 by 1, you’ll end up spending a lot of time and probably end up being discouraged before you hit gold. In the first 3-4 weeks of using Teespring, I set up over 20 campaigns I usually work in batches of 3 to 6.

Test test test, not sure whether I should even say this but the secret is testing again and again. Invest time in testing to beat the game!

Check the post on BHW

If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to comment below.

  • Mitchell Assin

    how are you creating your custom email audiance? i have a few custom UID lists that ive used for custom audiances however they are only UID and not email. is there a way to get the emails for my custom UID list so i can use them again for the custom audiance?

  • Oliver Goodwin

    Hi Mitchell

    http://www.faceids.com supports facebook emails extraction. There are paid programs that convert userids to facebook emails.

    Thanks.

  • Mariano

    Amazing case of studie. Thanks for share this here

  • Hey. Tnx for sharing that. I want to ask you if you use PPE or CTW ads?

  • Oliver Goodwin

    Hey Robert, thanks for asking.. In this particular ad, I used CTW and oCPM..With OCPM you let Facebook to do the hard work and optimize your ads..