Campaign Design – Shirt Design
Before I start there are some things to consider. First and foremost, we want to decide who exactly the t-shirt is for. Who is your audience? Are they male? Are they female? Is it a political audience? Is it a younger male audience? Is it an older male audience? Are they more of a distinguished type of person? Are they the happy-go-lucky type? You really need to think about who that person is and create the shirt for your market.
For my first “animal” niche I will create a t-shirt which addressed mostly on women because from my research I understand that women is more usual to wear a t-shirt about dog lovers, labradors etc than men. Also I will design women’s fitted t-shirts. In second niche, I will choice to create a unisex t-shirt and I will test it also when I upload the audience (facebook emails) on facebook and will check the percentage of the genders that my audience consists to make a choice.
We also need to decide whether you are going to do a premium shirt or a novelty shirt.
A novelty shirt is going to be a cheaper, Hanes-like, regular t-shirt. A shirt of a nicer quality with a really nice design is what we would consider a premium shirt. This ends up affecting the cost of the shirt. The higher the quality of the shirt we use, the more the base cost of producing it. So, I am going to have to charge more for it to make any profit off of it.
Now, depending on our audience, that may not be a big deal. If my audience is used to buying premium shirts and likes premium shirts, then they are also used to paying premium prices for those shirts. Are we going to use text, are we going to use an image, or are we going to do both? How many colors are we going to use? What style of shirt are we going to put it on? In that regard, we have a lot of different options. I will use text and image for my first campaign and i will split test the second niche one t-shirt with text and image and the other only with an image.
This is some of my old and new examples:
The Campaign Goal
You can approximately expect 0.5% to 1.5% of your audience size to buy your shirt.
I will buy 3 t-shirts for me and my friends to encourage the sales. I attached one month old successful campaign that had great success.
On my both niche I am going to split test price like: 18.98 – 19,95. The prices that usually add on my t-shirts are $19.95, $16.99, $18.98, or something like that. So, if these are priced correctly, customers can compare them to t-shirts that they have bought offline. People are conditioned to buy things, and they are comfortable with certain types of price points. When it comes to retail pricing and clothes shopping, people are used to seeing a t- shirt for 14, 15, 16, 17 dollars, with a .95 or a .99 attached to the back of it.
This will be the profit for each t-shirt!
Offer Page on Teespring
Campaign Design – Shirt Design
Also, I will test it on Facebook to see, how potential reach has the audience, and based on this I will make some changes if needed it, related on the genders and age groups.
When it’s time to extract audience for your facebook ad campaign, you have multiple opportunities to find your right audience than try to search only for related fan pages. You can use the option to extract audience by post they like and find your audience from pages that is different from your niche but their has a related post and a lot of comments likes which means active passionate users.
Campaign Design – Shirt Design
In the first niche I got a totally 160k passionate audience and I selected countries and sex which the audience reduced to 84,000 audience. I use only women for gender as I mentioned on my previous posts. I will update the campaign and minimize the range of the age if needed. In the second niche of a popular TV series, I collected more than 140k audience and I selected countries which reduced the potential audience to 97,000. I used both genders with a big age range as you can see in the above screenshots.
DAY 5 – 7
Split Tests Results
Not as much sales as I expected so in order to reach my target sooner. I will have to speed up the process in a way. I will start to increase the daily budget bit by bit after a week (e.g. $25 – $50 – $100 – $200 etc) to make sure the ROI keeps positive. Optimized CPM (with default bids) works pretty well for me but until now I have conclude that it get’s more expensive when trying to scale (high daily budgets).
CPC is more robust for me (keep CPC stable, even when scaling) so I return it on cpc after getting my first cpm impression of 1000 reach. My goal for the 1st day wasn’t to make profit.. It was to collect data! I set the max daily budget for the CPC campaign at $10 – $20 – which it was enough to get some useful data in. With CPM I usually don’t go much higher than $10 – $20 – got the feeling that works best.
After the first day, I checked the following:
1. What’s the CTR of each ad? On the 1st day I’m aiming for 3%+.
2. How many clicks did I get, and what was the average CPC I paid?
3. How many shirts did I sell, and how much revenue should that bring in?
4. See which ads / campaigns are doing best (in terms of CPC, CTR and conversions).
The data from 2 & 3 are really important, because it allows you to see what each visitor is worth to you (on average).
e.g. Let’s say you got 75 clicks and sold 3 shirts at $9 each (= $34), then each visitor is (on average) worth 27/75 = $0.36. Valuable info!
There are a couple of different outcomes after the 1st day:
- The campaign makes a HUGE loss (e.g. $25 spend, 0 sales).
- The campaign makes a small loss (e.g. $25 spend, $20 revenue)
- The campaign breaks even (e.g. $25 spend, $25 revenue)
- The campaign is profiting (e.g. $25 spend, $40 revenue)
I closed the campaigns that made huge loss and kept the campaigns which are breaks even and which is profiting. In general, if the campaign makes a small loss or breaks even (at least 75% money made back) I go through the ad variations (e.g. ads, targeting etc) to see whether some are underperforming I adjust the CP. After checking your stats take action and either kill, adjust or scale the campaign. Don’t be afraid to kill a campaign and take your losses. Honestly, a lot of campaigns will fail but if they run well as happening for 1 of my 4 ad campaigns, it probably should be exploit.
On the Middle of my Target
Campaign 1 T-shirt
Campaign 2 T-Shirt
2 Days before my over successfull campaigns end
I always optimize the campaigns for getting the maximum results. The great news are, that both of my teespring campaigns passed the 100 sold t-shirts. In my first campaign, I have sold 162 t-shirts with an estimated profit $1,620 and in my second teespring campaign I have sold 116 t-shirts with an estimated profit $1,160!
Below is the attachment from my campaigns.
Below, is a screenshot with facebook stats from the 1st campaign. You clearly see that I had 134 conversions with the cost per conversion $3.48. The clicks of the ad are 2,453 which include post likes, page likes, website clicks etc (average CPC 0.18$). The CTR stayed above 4% due to passionate audience – attractive banner. The total spent of the ad is 465,91$. If you divide by 21(days) (teespring campaign) is 22,18$ per day. So with 22,18$ a day in 21 days, I made over $875 net profit.
Some Extra Advices
Scaling many campaigns fail, some do well and a few will go incredibly well!! When you’re setting up campaigns 1 by 1, you’ll end up spending a lot of time and probably end up being discouraged before you hit gold. In the first 3-4 weeks of using Teespring, I set up over 20 campaigns I usually work in batches of 3 to 6.
Test test test, not sure whether I should even say this but the secret is testing again and again. Invest time in testing to beat the game!
Check the post on BHW
If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to comment below.